Peter Whelan

Ensemble Marsyas – Virtuosic music for winds from the 18th century

Curtis Auditorium, CIT Cork School of Music
Thursday 13th October, 2016, 8pm
Tickets: €20 / €18

Peter Whelan – bassoon
Dan Bates – oboe
Tbc – oboe
Philippe Grisvald – harpsichord
Sarah Mc Mahon – cello


Handel – Trio Sonata HWV 393 (2 oboes + bc)
Fasch – Sonata for Bassoon and continuo
Handel, GF: Suite No.7 in G minor for harpsichord solo (part 1)
Fasch – Quadro in G minor (2 oboes, bassoon and continuo)


Fasch – Quadro in F Major (2 oboes, bassoon and continuo)
Handel, GF: Suite No.7 in G minor for harpsichord solo (part 2)
Zelenka – Sonata V in F for 2 oboes, bassoon and continuo.

Ensemble Marsyas impresses me with their nimble fingers but it’s the group’s nuance that’s transfixing

BBC Music Magazine

Bassoonist Peter Whelan is outstanding, although the whole group plays with uncanny rapport, turning Fasch’s smart blends of instrumental timbres, baroque and galant styles, elegant Largos and frisky, virtuosic Allegros, into a stream of unalloyed listening pleasure

Early Music Magazine

Presented in collaboration with Cork Orchestral Society

Tickets also available from: Pro Musica 20 Oliver Plunkett St, Cork